#15 Star Wars

Jar Jar Binks, a Gungan

Ahhh!

George Lucas can torture my soul with the abomination that is Jar Jar Binks for all eternity, but I will still love Star Wars. Every part of it. The Lego figurines and sets, wall posters, and every crappy extended universe novel with its quintuple-interweaving story arcs. The overpriced merchandise and $33 Christmas ornaments.  Even the animated movie/TV series(s). I love it all no matter how terrible. Because I must. It is an unhealthy addiction, but I can’t stop myself.

I was late to the Star Wars universe, being only in the 6th grade at the time Revenge of the Sith came out, and had never seen any of the series. I asked my parents about it.

“You haven’t seen Star Wars?!” Was their reaction.

Apparently they had *forgotten* about this hallowed step in child-rearing.

Dad borrowed the original VHS trilogy release from my grandparents. And we watched.

I didn’t get it at first. It was ‘old’ at least by my standards, and the special effects were really nothing compared to a few modern movies I had seen recently.

Later, (around the 8th grade), I would realize that my first call was an excellent example of a 6th grader’s judgement. Which is to say, not that great.

Admiral Ackbar as featured in Return of the Je...

It's a... yeah, you should know the rest.

Now I am a fantastically adamant fan-child of everything with the Lucasarts logo slapped on it. I know that this defies logic, (especially after the immensely disturbing Admiral Ackbar themed toilet cover came out, “It’s a crap!”), but my brain-logic has no say when it comes to this sector of the galaxy. I know it’s not as good as I want it to be. I know that it has rapidly deteriorated from the realm of good taste (the first three movies) to forcing myself to like it (the second three) and eventually liking it just because it’s still associated with my happy memories of the original three (the animated movie/shows).

And if, as I suspect, George Lucas tries to reboot the series before he finally croaks (because he just can’t let it goooo!), I will watch it and do my darndest to love it. Because it is Star Wars.

There’s just nothing like it.

Posted on February 18, 2012, in Fav February and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on #15 Star Wars.

Comments are closed.

