Max 1 Review: The Angel Experiment

Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment

Quick, guess which book cover this is!

Ok, you asked for it.

Or maybe you didn’t ask for it, in which case I ignored your protests and continued onward anyway.

Anyway, it is now time to start my reviews on the Maximum Ride series by James Patterson, beginning with, (naturally), book one: The Angel Experiment.

The story jumps straight into the action as we’re introduced to the Flock: six mad-scientist lab escapees that form a mismatched family of ‘mutant’ kids who all have wings, (and other various abilities) as a result of their mix&match DNA. The group consists of: Fang– the dark broody one, Iggy– the blind guy who can hold his own, Nudge– the talkative girly girl, Angel– the young innocent angelic child, Gasman or Gazzy- the comic relief, and Max- the action girl leader who serves as the sassy first-person narrator for most of the story.

The group is constantly on the run from werewolves ‘Erasers’ (evil mutants that transform from normal looking humans into ferocious wolves) who apparently seek to capture the Flock and return them to the laboratory.

At the beginning of the book, the Erasers succeed in capturing the youngest Flock member, Angel, prompting the rest of the flock to head out on a rescue mission. What follows is an interesting, fun and exciting adventure (which I shall now refer to as ‘infunciting’) that never lets up on the action.

From the first page, I was sucked in, and it takes a lot to suck me in, especially with young-adult books. (Divergent, incidentally, is another book that did an excellent job of capturing my attention). The fast, choppy narrative style worked for me, making the book unlike any other I’ve read stylistically and setting it apart in my mind. Say what you will about the first person narration, but to me, it was distinctive and at times added some much-needed humor to otherwise very dark scenes.

There were a few times where the book’s plot disappeared for the sole purpose of a random tangent, leaving me wishing they would just get on with it, e.g. “Let’s go to a zoo!” or “Let’s buy some supermegawesomepeanuts!” (Which, coincidentally, is the name of my next band). But for the most part, The Angel Experiment clipped along at quite a nice pace.

I recommend this book for older-ish children/young adults who enjoy a fun action-filled read.

4.25 out of 5 stars.

Can’t wait for the next one.

Posted on March 21, 2012, in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love Maximum Ride and Divergent too. I’m running out of good books to read, so do you have suggestions for me? Thanks.

    • I just finished Fear, the 6th book in the Gone series by Michael Grant, and thought it was excellent. I also highly recommend The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak; I read both recently and really enjoyed them.

