I’m Going to Go Ahead and Say It:

This just might be one of the worst weeks ever.

Between the Boston Marathon bombings and the MIT shootings, it can easily be called downright miserable and I’d be lying if I said this week hadn’t dampened my spirits quite a bit. It sucks to be reminded of how terrible humanity can be sometimes.

But.

Whenever terrible things happen in the world, I like to remind myself of this quote from the Great Mr. Rogers. I’m sure you’ve probably seen/heard this quote before and perhaps quite recently but I’m going to post it anyway because it’s worth repeating:

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.’ To this day, especially in times of disaster, I remember my mother’s words, and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.”

Whether it’s the marathon runners who finished the race and kept on running for two more miles to donate blood at the hospital, random Boston residents offering runners orange juice and wifi/phones to contact loved ones or the flood of people who ran towards the explosions rather than away. The horrible devastation one or a handful of individuals can cause shouldn’t be the focus. It can’t be the focus because the moment it becomes our focus is the moment we’ve lost. Rather, it’s the hundreds and thousands and millions of people who decide to help in the face of such devastation that I look for. And so should you.

So thanks Mr. Rogers.

Posted on April 19, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on I’m Going to Go Ahead and Say It:.

Comments are closed.

