Favorite Characters #9

deansilo

9Dean-Winchester

Dean Winchester

(Although that might just be a picture of Jensen Ackles?)

Supernatural was another show, much like Fairy Tail that by all accounts I should not have started watching. I can’t stand the horror genre, finding it needlessly gory and usually silly rather than scary. When the genre does manage to scare me, I don’t like the feeling. It’s a lose-lose for me, so I steer clear of the genre.

Unlike Fairy Tail, however, I know why I decided to give Supernatural a try: this gif.

I’m not sure why. Perhaps it spoke to me on some deep level that I am incapable of fully understanding. Perhaps it disturbed me on some deep level that I am incapable of fully understanding. Whatever the case, the show was on netflix, so I gave it a shot.

The first season was. . .meh. It was okay. I was honestly going to give up on the show until the final three episodes of season one. After that, I was sold for every single other season, and 90% of the reason why is the character listed above.

For those of you who haven’t seen the show, it follows two brothers, Dean and his younger brother Sam, as they drive across the country and burn/smash/fillet/chainsaw massacre/otherwise dispose of traditional horror monsters (ghosts, vampires, demons, etc). This is not the main story, it’s just exciting things that happen while the real story–about how two brothers who are dangerously codependent on each other and put their lives on the line again and again to save the other, sometimes literally risking the world to do so–sneaks its way into your heart.

I could probably go on forever about Dean’s characterization (and Sam’s as well for that matter) but for the sake of brevity, I’ll stick to the main resonance which kept me watching when I was planning to drop the show: unconditional love, particularly where siblings are concerned.

I’m the oldest child in my family and have both a younger brother and a younger sister that I am lucky enough to have a fantastic relationship with. I’ve always felt protective of them, but was never sure exactly how protective until the day my sister told me she’d been cut from the sports team she’d really wanted to make. She’d played this sport her entire life and, I thought, was such an obvious pick for the team, I hadn’t even considered the chance she wouldn’t make it until that moment.

I’m not a violent person; I’ve only thrown two punches in my entire life and I rarely get angry. But at that moment, I wanted to hunt down the coach who had made the decision and do my best to knock out a few of his teeth. I had to go for a walk to calm down.

I wasn’t ignoring the facts: there were only so many girls, some people had to be cut, violence wasn’t the answer, disappointment is a part of life, it wasn’t my place to step in anyway, etc–they just didn’t matter to me. If I could have taken the fall for my sister, I would have.

Likewise, Dean’s end-all, be-all love for his brother doesn’t make a lot of sense when faced with the facts, but in many ways is the heart of his characterization. For that alone, all seven other seasons (well, eight now) are well worth the watch.

Posted on February 25, 2014, in Fav February and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Favorite Characters #9.

Comments are closed.

